Streamer Chronicles: Chris Willen

 

Willen was there for my first musky trip and my first fish, he was riding along feeling his way into fly fishing guiding.

I was the single fly fisher on this trip, so he fished in the back seat every day, it was the start of a solid friendship. Even then I was in awe at how good he had become at tying so fast, a sign of commitment and raw talent. Twelve months later he was in the rowers seat and we have shared plenty of boat time together my home turf.

It’s been very cool and highly entertaining watching him become one of the top musky guides anywhere. He remains one the the funniest guys in fly fishing, without actually trying, and his ” no fish in this river” rant in “Chasing The Donkey” remains one of my favorite memories. And of course he coined the streamer chucker’s mantra “Just Cast Better”

Enjoy the Chris Willen Streamer Chronicle episode from the master Brian Wise.

 

 

tIE hARD
Tie Harder with Dallys