Midcurrent Interview: Greg “Trouty” French

f7644b56cd0ae537784e23b64857cf80_l
Greg French wades the Derwent River in central Hobart _ image courtesy Flylife magazine

 

Tasmania, the tiny island state I was raised on, is one of those small places where everyone seems to be connected, by experience, relations or friendships.

It always seems to be a surprise to me that somehow I never met Greg French, one of the key influences on my fly fishing life. We share friends, moved in similar circles, write for the same magazine and heck I’ve spent countless hours day and night wading that riverfront pictured aboved. That was Trouty’s fault too.

The first purchase I made as a new fly fisher, with a virginal rod, was my copy of Tasmanian Trout waters, written by French and Flylife publisher Rob Sloane. This opus was my early inspiration, a handbook to waters as yet unknown.

Tasmania can be a candy shop for the new fly fisher, thousands of rivers and lakes carrying trout, and the book had them all, well those worth fishing, a plethora of choice.

Frog Call remains my favorite French book, his first and a deeply personal exploration of a fly fisher, the rivers and country and people which fill his life.

He is the subject of an excellent and broadranging interview with Marshall Cutchin from Midcurrent.com, its worth taking the time.

And you can find the books mentioned here