Great Fishing on the White with Kevin Brandtonies

above20average_zpsce3a61wz
The fog was thick as I launched my boat at Rim Shoals at 8:00 am this morning. It was cool, refreshing and I knew it wouldn’t last. The weather man said it would get pretty warm in the afternoon, and the delightful mist would evaporate. There was one generator going, and it had been on since 1:00 am. The water was clear, and I hoped the bite would start immediately. 
My clients were John and Tony from South Bend, Indiana. I had them out the Thursday before and it had been good fishing. John had some experience, but Tony was a novice. I gave some casting tips to Tony early in the trip and he learned quickly. Nymphing was the game, and they both wanted to learn. There is an art to nymphing (fishing under an indicator) and those who take the time to hone this skill, are often rewarded handsomely. 
The first hour was slow. There were quite a few boats out on the river, and the constant sound of motors running up and down the river can…..make the trout fickle. I also feel that fog can play a role in slowing the bite, but that is my opinion, and it may not be shared by others. We worked some slow water up above Redbud Shoal, but we only caught a few small rainbows. I motored up to Round House Shoals in Cotter, a small town along the White. I was looking for some stronger current, and some larger trout. I started my drift halfway up the shoal. I called out a subtle hit to Tony. “There he is!” Tony set the hook swiftly and had one on. I then immediately looked at John’s indicator, and it was under the surface! “John! There he is!” John set the hook,(somewhat late) and we had our first of 5 “doubles.” I was fishing with a bright pink San Juan worm jig, and a size 18 midge dropper, and both flies were catching fish. When we broke for lunch, we had caught around 20! Some of them better than average, and we even caught a Fine Spot cutthroat. John and Tony were very pleased….and they should be! Tony was a complete novice at the beginning of the trip on Thursday….now he was drifting those flies like a pro, and getting the bites and hook up’s to prove it! John was catching his share of fish as well. If you work hard at it, and pay attention…..good things happen. 
We broke for lunch, and then we headed back out. I worked the lower half of Rim Shoals in the afternoon. It was more of the same! The number of boats on the water lessened, and the fish were hungry. John and Tony had a blast catching some very beautiful rainbow’s, bright pink stripe, highlighted pectoral fins…..they were “living art.” 
I am guessing mind you, but I want to say they caught at least 40 fish, and that is a conservative estimate. We ALL had a great day, when fishing and fisherman are this good…..it makes my job a true joy. 
Get out there people….it’s just too much fun to pass up!
-Yankee Trout Bum, Kevin Brandtonies

One comment

  • Our camper guests were very excited about their trip with your guide today; thanks Think we both will be having them back; Russ Lanza and friends were our guests. Think their guide was Mark

    Charlotte Ramsey White River Campground

    On Sun, Jun 12, 2016 at 11:08 AM, The Ozark Fly Fisher Journal wrote:

    > ozarkflyfisherjournal posted: ” The fog was thick as I launched my boat at > Rim Shoals at 8:00 am this morning. It was cool, refreshing and I knew it > wouldn’t last. The weather man said it would get pretty warm in the > afternoon, and the delightful mist would evaporate. There was one ge” >

Comments are closed.