8 Mistakes Anglers Make Fighting Trout: Gink and Gasoline

cjnymp-1-12
Mississippi Johnson getting it right alongside author Jason Randall in spring 

Nice piece from Kent Klewein on the Gink and Gasoline Blog about the 8 Most Common Mistakes Anglers Make Fighting Trout.

Put his tips when you next meet a White River trophy.

 

If I looked backed on my early fly fishing days and had to grade my fish fighting skills, it would yield a discouraging report card.

I’ll never forget how tense and anxious I was every time I’d find myself hooked up with a nice trout. It seemed like every second of the battle I was terrified that I was going to lose my trophy.

Most trout that are hooked and lost during the fight can be linked back to a handful of common mistakes. Yet, most of the time, they all can be easily avoided if you pay close attention to what you’re doing when you’re fighting a trout. _ Kent Klewein