Big, Big Musky

Robert Hawkins, owner of Bob Mitchell’s Fly Shop, with the 57-inch muskie he caught on a fly _ Image Robert Hawkins via Star Tribune.com

 

If you were hanging out at the Streamer Lovefest last year you might have bumped into the character above, Robert Hawkins from Minneapolis.

Robert, who is the owner of Bob Mitchell’s Fly Shop, caught and releases this thumper musky on Monday on a 12wt.

About 10:30 that morning, after casting a custom-made foot-long fly into about 10 feet of water, he hooked his muskie, a monster estimated to weigh more than 50 pounds.

“I didn’t see the fish take the fly,’’ said Hawkins, who owns Bob Mitchell’s Fly Shop in Lake Elmo. “But when I felt her hit, I had a pretty good strip-set, I thought. Then, when I saw her turn sideways, I knew she was the biggest muskie I’d ever hooked.’’ _  Read the full Star Tribune story

I’d love to say the good karma in the room that night rubbed off, but really its more about the close confluence of musky and brown trout streamer fishing _ that and the talent we get to assemble every year.

Those musky are a special beast