Craven’s Mole Fly

 

SIMPLE but deadly: that’s Charlie Craven’s Mole Fly to a tee.

It’s probably never going to be a monster seller, unless you are in the know that is, a drab little bug, with little bin appeal, over shadowed by the more detailed, more hackles, more epoxied, flashier flies. When I spotted it for the first time at the Tackle Dealer’s Show last summer, I first thought it was Tasmanian.

I learnt my dry fly fishing with scruffy non-descript bugs like these, albeit in #10s and #12s and the shuttlecock CDC wing has become a standard. That ashy dun/brown body (beaver in Charlie’s recipe) is a killer, both for mayflies and tailwater midges.

Like the protagonist of a LeCarre spy novel the Mole fly fades into the background in a fly shop full of bugs but capable of doing very big things. Heck I bought it and I forget about it.

Kirk Deeter’s Field and Stream article popped it back into my memory, just as Bill and I had been talking with two customers who had been frustrated yesterday on Norfork with trout blanketing the river eating in the film. I should have handed them the Mole fly.

Sure its tied as a mayfly imitation but when it comes to 18s and smaller the Mole fly is food floating in the film.

If you want the tying instructions jump to here.