A Day with Dave and Emily _ Jim Dugan

Emily releasing one of Brenda’s 20+” fish _ all images Jim Dugan

 

Over 50 years ago I picked up a fly rod for the first time. I have fished in many places some with great success, others were disasters. One of the smartest things I did concerning fly fishing was taking a class with Dave Whitlock and his wife Emily.

My wife, Brenda, and I took the class last week, we drove home promising ourselves to take it again next spring just to get a tune up. Here are a few pictures from a fantastic day.

I told Dave that he had showed me enough efficiency technique that I could now fish two hours in just one hour. Surprise, Surprise, Surprise, Brenda caught more and bigger fish than I did. I blamed it on the guide, she had Emily.

Dave with a target he developed for presentation practice.

 

Dave setting a presentation target for me. Yes he is 80 and I wouldn’t wade there.

 

I was showing Dave how not to take a fish picture.

One comment

Comments are closed.