Dally’s Fly Fishing Report _ 8/14/14

Joe Koehly and Ben Levin with a friend. I guess they’re smiling – hard to tell through all the facial hair.

In many ways being a fishing guide is like being an entertainer – you want your clients to have a good time regardless of how the fishing goes. Every once in a while though, you get some clients that have the entertainment part covered. Bobby Gregory, his sons Adam and Paul, and sons-in-law Joe and Brandon fished with us for three days straight, and kept us laughing the whole time. I swear the hooting and hollering going on up and down the river was spooking fish. Y’all hurry back now hear?

The other guys caught fish too, Joe’s just the best looking of the bunch – hard to believe I know.

White River:

Things are quite literally looking up on the White. Hopefully I won’t have to stuff my foot in my mouth for saying this, but based on the frequency of pictures and reports coming in, I’d say we are on the cusp of peak hopper season. Up until now the hopper bite has been decent, but spotty, perhaps due to the mild summer we’ve had so far, but there’ so many factors involved, who knows why really. Wade fishing the shoals on lower flows with a hopper dropper rig is quite effective. Use Copper Johns, Hare’s Ear Nymphs, and Sunday Specials as droppers. Make sure your hopper is buoyant enough to hold your dropper up through the riffles – Fat Alberts and Western Ladies are sturdy, battle tested ships. If you have the opportunity to jump in a boat and bomb the banks on high water, you’d be crazy not to do it. Just check out Bill’s blog post for proof.

A cool fog shot submitted by the Gregory group.

Norfork River:

I finally got the chance to do a little wade fishing at Ackerman access yesterday, and was catching a few on Hunchback scuds and Ruby midges, but when I switched to a Root Beer midge, I couldn’t keep the fish off. I was also having some fun with a #24 Parachute Adams (George Peters would be proud) before the water came up a full 4 hours prior to expected release and sent everybody marching back to the truck. I’m not sure what fishing the high flows on the Norfork would be like right now, but I’m sure Sunday Specials and midges would do great, and it would be interesting to see what would happen with hoppers and streamers.

Chad spotting and stalking (and representing) from the captain’s chair.